Southern Star 20th May - 2017-05-20

At the time of writing this article our Junior Hurlers are preparing to face their old rivals Newcestown in Round 1 of the RCM Tarmacadam Championship at Enniskeane 7.15pm.

The team has been in good form of late with recent victories over St James last week (1-12 to 0-14) and Kilmeen/Kilbree a week earlier. 

We have recorded other league victories over Kilbrittain and St Oliver Plunketts whilst suffering defeats to D O'Mathunas and Ballinascarthy. 

The heavy 2016 defeat to Newcestown should also act as an incentive to our team.

Our Footballers recorded a facile 3-15 to 0-10 Division 4 League victory over Kinsale last Friday night at Charlie Hurley Park. 

Mark Sugrue and Barry Collins put in great performances as did newcomers Aaron Burns and Jordan Fenton-Lehane.

Team: Jack Donegan, Aaron Burns, Kevin Lucey, Joe Harrington, Cian O'Mahony. Peter Murphy, David Crowley, Tom O'Donoghue, Jason Hickey 0-1, Jonathan Mulcahy 0-1, Mark Sugrue 1-7, Jordan Fenton-Lehane, Rob Long, Barry Collins 1-4, John O'Connell 1-2. 

The Senior Hurlers host Na Piarsaigh in the RedFM Senior Hurling League this Saturday at 2.30pm.

Best wishes to the Under 14 Hurlers on Saturday in the Feile Iomaint Competition at Clonakilty where they face their hosts at 11.00 and Ballinhassig at 11.45am.

Bandon U14's played league hurling match V Newcestown in Bandon on the 11th of May.
A close game early on with the scores level at half time. 0-6 to 1-3

Rory Desmond had strong game in midfield, Brendan Twohig very solid at full back.
Ben Harrington scored an important goal at start of the 2nd half and the introduction of Luke Quinlan really strengthened the Bandon forwards in 2nd half.

Final score 1-14 to 1-5

1- David McCarthy
2 - Nico Belivanius
3 - Brendan Twohig
4 - Dylan Barr
5 - Eamon Twomney
6 - Richard Murphy(0-2)
7 - Tom Donegan
8 - Ruairi Harrington (0-1)
9 - Rory Desmond (0-8)
10 - Cian McPartland (0-1)
11 - Jake Ellis (0-1)
12 - Ben Harrington (1-1)
13 - Darragh McCarthy
14 - Aaron O'Reilly
15 - Jack Heaney

Stephen Collins
Luke Quinlan